Hall of fame

Welcome to our Hall of fame.

The Wasps Legends Hall of Fame was created in 2007 with the aim of bringing the Wasps family together and celebrating the history of our great club. That family consists of Wasps Rugby, Wasps FC, Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation and now, in 2022, Wasps Netball.

Founded in 1867, Wasps Football Club was originally based in west London. Today our incredibly strong amateur set-up still has its home in Twyford Avenue in Acton. The men’s first team currently play in the Herts/Middlesex 1 league and the club has a huge mini and youth section, in which it takes enormous pride. Wasps was one of the first teams in the world to establish a Women’s section. This has been thriving since it was established in 1984 by Sue Martineau and we have consistently been one of the country’s leading teams. Wasps FC was guided by a number of great individuals, including Ivor Montlake, and is now in the hands of Richard Green and his dedicated team of staff and volunteers.

The hall of fame criteria

Wasps who have made an outstanding contribution to the Club and the game of Rugby football and Netball and who have ceased playing for at least 2 years.

Hall of Fame Committee – Mark Rigby ( Chair) , Will Green, Peter Scrivener, Kasey Allen & Chris Bell

Sue Day, Mike Ireland, Geoff Strange and Martin Bayfield on stage at Wasps Legends Hall of Fame 2022, in Coventry

Previous winners


  • Posthumous: Ivor Montlake
  • Geoff Strange
  • Mark Rigby
  • Sue Day MBE
  • Joe Worsley MBE
  • Sue Martineau
  • Jeff Probyn
  • Mike Ireland
  • James Haskell
  • Peter Scrivener


  • Clive Ashby
  • Freddie Hawkins
  • Lawrence Dallaglio
  • Damian Hopley
  • Dean Ryan
  • Posthumous: Linda Uttley


  • Nigel Melville
  • Roger Uttley
  • Matt Greenwood
  • Alex King
  • Posthumous: Gordon Bendon


  • Pat Sykes
  • Alan Black
  • Huw Davies
  • Francis Emeruwa
  • Gareth Rees
  • Posthumous: James Pain, Fred and William Alford


  • Don Wills
  • Bill Treadwell
  • Rob Smith
  • Paul Rendall
  • Will Green


  • Richard Sharp
  • Ed Woodward
  • Rob Andrew
  • Rob Howley
  • Kenny Logan
  • Posthumous: Bob Stirling, Peter Yarranton, Neville Compton

Wasps have had many homes. Too many to mention between 1867 and 1923, when we put down roots in Repton Avenue, in Sudbury, London – the first ground which we could call our own. We were still there in 1995, when our professional side was created, as the game moved into the professional era. From 1996 to 2002, we played at Loftus Road in Shepherd’s Bush and from 2002 to 2014 at Adams Park in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. We had three incredible owners in Chris Wright, John O’Connell and Steve Hayes and most recently Derek Richardson. In 2014 Derek and his team relocated to Coventry and developed a state of the art training facility in Henley-in-Arden, which was opened in 2021.

Wasps have won 12 major titles to date. We were European Champions twice, in 2004 and 2007. We have won six English Championships, including three in a row from 2003–05, as well as two domestic cups, in 1998/99 and 1999/2000, and the Anglo-Welsh cup in 2005/6. We also won the 2002/3 European Rugby Challenge Cup and the 2017–18 season marked the 150th anniversary of Wasps Rugby Football Club.

Keep in touch


Make sure you’re keeping in touch with us to find out new ways you can help us to raise money, and what incredible events we have coming for 2023.

Consent disclaimer